A little flame that licked her wrist

Set ablaze the pain from within.

She’s beautiful, and she doesn’t even know it.

There’s an angel sitting inside, and she can’t even see it.

Clouded by the past,

She just wants something that’ll last.

She shouldn’t be alone tonight.

 

I sing the song of the broken,

Screaming from the soul of the damned.

I sing for the boy with a smile,

For the girl with a beautiful laugh.

I sing because they hurt,

And you don’t even know until the aftermath.

Crying out to Heaven,

With only a response from Hell.

You never noticed until the day they fell.

 

The dark night clouds clutter the depths

Of his weakening mind.

There was always one more step to climb

Before he could say he was okay.

He didn’t want to get close;

He didn’t want to take the chance.

It shouldn’t have been him to take the fall.

 

I wish you had stayed for the sunrise.

You could’ve seen that the night passed,

And the morning rains washed away

The sorrows and fears.

I wish you had stayed.

 

I sing the song of the broken,

Screaming from the soul of the damned.

I sing for the boy with a smile,

For the girl with a beautiful laugh.

I sing because they hurt,

And you don’t even know until the aftermath.

Crying out to Heaven,

With only a response from Hell.

You never noticed until the day they fell.

 

I wish you had stayed for the sunrise.

I wish you could’ve seen you through my eyes.

God, I wish you had stayed.

 

Copyright © 2016 itsjustbecca All Rights Reserved

